Division 49 Board News

Dennis Kivlighan, Ph.D.
Dennis Kivlighan, Ph.D.

The Board of Directors unanimously voted to recommend the following amendment to these Bylaws. (Bolded text represent the old wording and the proposed changes).


There shall be a Board of Directors of this Society. Its membership shall consist of the following persons:

  1. The elected Officers of the Society as specified in Article IV, Section 1, of these Bylaws;
  2. Three (3) Members-at-large, one (1) of whom shall be elected each year for a three (3) year term in staggered sequence as specified in Article V, Section 2, of these Bylaws;
  3. One (1) Student Representative, to be elected for a two (2) year term.
  4. Representatives elected to the APA Council of Representatives as specified in Article V,

Section 3, of these Bylaws.


Five (5) Domain Representatives, to be elected for staggered three (3) year terms. The Domains represented by these positions shall be: a) Group Psychology; b) Group Psychotherapy; c) Education and Training; d) Diversity; e) Early Career Psychologists. Annually, the Nominations and Elections Committee shall recommend to the Board of Directors a composition of slates intended to ensure breadth of representation on the Board by individuals representing diverse backgrounds, interests, identities, cultures and nationalities. Domain Representatives will coordinate with appropriate committees of the Society.