Dissertation Award

Richard Moreland, Ph.D.
Richard Moreland, Ph.D.

Each year, Division 49 (Group Psychology & Group Psychotherapy) of the American Psychological Association offers an award for the best dissertation research on small groups. This research can investigate any phenomenon, using any methodology, in any type of group. Past winners of the award include Drs. Karen Jehn, Deborah Gruenfeld, Amy Edmondson, and Kyle Lewis. The award comprises cash ($1000), a plaque, and a three-year free membership in the Division.

People who complete a dissertation on groups sometime during calendar year 2015 are welcome to enter the competition. To enter, a brief abstract (5 pages maximum, typewritten and double-spaced) of the dissertation should be sent to Dr. Richard Moreland (408 Fern Hollow Lane, Wexford, PA; 15090; The deadline for submitting abstracts is March 1st, 2016. Dr. Moreland will send copies of the submitted abstracts to a small review committee for evaluation, and that committee will select three finalists. These finalists will be asked to submit complete copies of their dissertations, which will then be reviewed by the same committee. The winner will receive his or her award at the APA Convention in August, 2016.

If you completed a dissertation on groups last year, then please consider entering the competition. Or, if you know someone else who completed such a dissertation, then please mention the competition to him or her. Remember, the dissertation research can explore any phenomenon, using any methodology, in any type of group.